top of page

Preparations

Welcome to my very first blog post! I am starting this blog to keep family and friends in the loop during my upcoming travels to the icy continent of Antarctica. I will be posting pictures of my adventures with Weddell Seals here as well as snippets of life in McMurdo.

Half of my crew is already on the ice preparing for the arrival of the rest of us who will be leaving the states in just TWO DAYS! Our travels will take us through Christchurch in New Zealand where we will be given our cold weather outfits and flu shots before heading to the ice. I am still packing even though my flights are fast approaching. My bags are mostly full of socks and long underwear!

Take a look at our project's page to learn more about the history of the Weddell Seal Science Project.

I will hopefully be posting again once I am in McMurdo.

In the meantime I spent the past week backpacking and hot springing with Sully in the "Sawteeth" of Idaho as a last sendoff before we meet again in New Zealand. It was snowy but beautiful!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page